Oscars – fashion fails and fun

(As I’ve said before) I just want to state up front I’m not qualified to be doing this. I’m currently wearing pajamas by Sussan. But they get to be movie stars and I don’t so I’m judging them.

Milla Jovovich

Milla Jovovich

Winner! I don’t know why she’s there. But I love this dress. She looks like vanilla icing and I mean that in a good way.

Emma Stone

Emma Stone

So Emma Stone is wearing this. I’m not a fan of the neck bow but I quite love the rest of it – the deep red, the flowy hemline, the defined waistline. But apparently this is a fashion fail, according to Perez Hilton, and the two journos live blogging the Oscars at www.news.com.au who had this to say: “Emma Stone turns up in Nicole Kidman’s Oscar dress from 2007.. what a faux pas!”

Emma Stone 2012 and Nicole Kidman 2007.

Emma Stone 2012 and Nicole Kidman 2007. Image from http://www.news.com.au

Is it though? Is it currently 2007 at the Oscars? Is Nicole Kidman there, running around in this same dress? I went to a wedding a few weeks ago. I had two dresses to choose from. I was so relieved when I got there to see the exact dress I’d left on the hanger at home was being worn by another person. That for me would be a faux pas. Not wearing a similar dress five years apart…this is where the fashion people lose me. And anyway – aside from the Bridesmaids girls and Chris Rock, Emma Stone (and co-presenter Ben Stiller) was the only funny presenter at the Oscars. So she gets her neck bow points back for that.

Michelle Williams

Michelle Williams

Apparently they only let you into the Oscars if you were wearing red. Anyway, Michelle Williams is rockin’ a peplum like only girls with no hips can in this dress. It’s girly and elegant and I quite love it. Better than what she wore to the Screen Actors Guild awards:

Michelle Williams

Michelle Williams at the 2012 SAG awards. Image from http://style.mtv.com

The hemline and the ankle straps on the shoes make me angry.

Natalie Portman

Natalie Portman

You’re wearing polka dots Natalie Portman? Why? Why?

Octavia Spencer

Octavia Spencer

Don’t you hate it when you read a story about, oh say, Miranda Kerr and she’s all “I love my curves!” I have news for you Miranda. These are curves. And this is how you dress for them. I love this, it’s a flattering dress and she looks great.

Meryl Streep

Meryl Streep

Obvious joke but I’m doing it anyway. Meryl Streep came dressed as an Oscar!

George Clooney

George Clooney

George loves a racing stripe on his tux. Is this the same one he wore to the Golden Globes?

George Clooney

George Clooney at Golden Globes. Image from http://www.couriermail.com.au

Is it? Is that a fashion faux pas then? Or does that only count for chicks? Anyway, big fan of George. He can wear this every day, I wouldn’t mind.

Anna Faris and Rose Byrne

Anna Faris and Rose Byrne. Image from http://www.tmz.com

So Rose Byrne showed up wearing Anna Faris’s dress from 2007 – what a faux pas! Except, oh wait, no they’re both there in 2012. And it looks like they went to the hairdresser together too. They’re both beautiful women, but I’m picking Anna for the win. The silhouette and line of her dress is much more flattering. Poor Rose just looks like she’s in a shiny tube.

Mario Lopez

Mario Lopez

Slater is at the Oscars! He hasn’t aged a bit. His tux fits perfectly.

Angelina Jolie

Angelina Jolie

Hey guys, I think Angelina Jolie’s dress has a thigh high split. I can’t be sure though…it’s hard to tell.

Angelina Jolie

Angelina Jolie

You have a thigh high split in your dress Angelina. We get it. You can stand normally now.

Jennifer Lopez

Jennifer Lopez

When presenting the award for best costume design Jennifer Lopez said “your dresses should be tight enough to show you’re a woman and loose enough to show you’re a lady”. J.Lo may have wanted to take Edith Head’s advice, because it’s rumoured she had a little wardrobe malfunction. Anyway – its very J.Lo – tight, sexy, etc. And kind of like a venetian  blind.

And finally, Gwyneth wore a cape.

Gwyneth Paltrow

Gwyneth Paltrow

And I don’t hate it.

*all photos are taken from galleries on www.oscar.go.com, except where I’ve noted otherwise. No intention to claim copyright. 

3 thoughts on “Oscars – fashion fails and fun

  1. Pingback: Oscars 2013 – I like shiny dresses | lyndawithaycrawford

  2. Great pics! Regarding Meryl Streep’s dress…I told one of my friends last night that I know she spent a fortune on that dress. But, inexplicably, the fabric looks cheap…what’s up with that?! I agree with you on Milla Jovovich’s look–stunning! I did choose Penelope Cruz as best dressed last night though.

    Like this

    • I don’t know – maybe the shinyness of the fabric? It makes it look like it would be that itchy scratchy kind of fabric to wear. At least she actually won an Oscar though – unlike Stacy Keibler who just looks shiny (and gets to go home with George so a win there I suppose). I really like the colour of Penelope Cruz’s dress! Very pretty!

      Like this

Leave a Reply

